Light-O-Rama Forums

Adding New RGB Props

kzziboy

Hi Everyone.

Using the Pro version of S5.  I'm new with this.  Wondering how to set the correct UNIT ID to each RGB Prop that I add?

I added a Pixie 16 last year and used all channels for an RGB Pixel Tree.  I see there's a different UNIT ID for each string in the pixel tree.  Now, I have another Pixie 16 that I want to use for the outline of my house and windows.  How do I get different UNIT ID's to show up for each "prop" I enter on the Sequencer Preview?  It defaults to Unit 1 which is already used.  The pixel tree starts at Unit 5 and counts up to Unit 14 then switches to 0A, 0B, and so on up to 0F.  That's 16 different ID's.  The tree works correctly in my sequences.  Am I correct in saying I would want my new Pixie 16 that I'm using for the house to start at Unit 0G?  Then count UP 16 spots for each Unit ID number?

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

Adrian

its hexadecimal (counting in 16s, its a computer thing).  the numbers are 0 - F (0 to 15) so the next unit after 0F is 10 up to 1F and then 20 and so on 

Okay.  So if my Pixie 16 that's running my pixel tree starts at 05 and counts up to 0F, then what number would you suggest I start my NEW Pixie 16 at that will run my house?  20?

A Pixie 16 starting at 05 would use 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B, 0C, 0D, 0E, 0F, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14.

Since I don't know your setup, I don't know if this would introduce any ID conflicts. However, I would personally suggest #1 Pixie start at 10, and #2 pixie start at 20.

Since you have a pro license there is no issue with having gaps so to make it easier you can just make sure to pick a starting number that is higher than the last you see in the preview.   Yours says 14 so go to 20.   If it says 34, go to 40, etc.     If it happened to say 5A, than go to 60.    You are not using some of the "valid" numbers but it doesn't hurt.   

My job is programming so I do hex all day, but I still do this to make it easier for me.