Light-O-Rama Forums

Adding Pixie 16

kzziboy

I’m not a newbie to Lightorama but I am somewhat to RGB. I added a Pixie 16 last year for an RGB tree. That wasn’t too difficult. BUT now I’m adding another one to use on the outlines of the house and windows. Not sure of the best way to lay this out. So I have to ask a few questions. I included a picture of my house with lines drawn where I would like to outline with pixel strings:

1. Where is the best place to put it so I can reach all the areas I want to reach?

2. On the roof line for example…do my pixel strings have to be separate on the edges from what runs on the peak or can they be a continuous line?  Same for along the gutters. How does the program know how to differentiate what direction the strings are running so it all looks the right way when running a sequence?  I did watch some tutorials about this but I’m not sure it’s as simple as it seems. 

I would think a Pixie 16 would be enough to run everything I have marked with red lines in the picture. 
If anyone has a video suggestion for me to watch, that would be appreciated or any other instructions they may have to throw my way. 
Thanks so much!

5427C4F8-371D-4CB4-BE4F-E0FB7606542F.jpeg

Best place to mount it would be as close to the center with the shortest runs possible. Any idea what the pixel count will be on all that? I would guess that would determine how the strings will need to be broken up and wired. I see 12 different parts/objects/props that need to be outlined and I think there is a 170 pixel limit (with variables) per port on the Pixie 16. I assume you will be doing 12v pixels so I'm not sure how long the leads can go to exceed the 350 watt limit if using 1 PSU. My guess is you will need 2 350 watt PSU's to power all those pixels without issues?