Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixel Tree - Beginner

MikeyG505

Hello,

I am new to all of this and just starting out, I have zero experience. I purchased the 16×25 pixel tree during the spring sale and I am trying to play a sequence to at least get something to work. Here are the steps I've taken:

1. I've put the tree together and made all the connections.

2. I can open the hardware utility and use the test sections and the lights are working.

3. I downloaded the free pixel tree sequence and audio and put them in the appropriate folders and saved the sequence.

4. I've added the sequence to the show editor and created a schedule.

5. I can run the show and hear the music on the computer but no lights.

I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction to get the sequence to work. Right now I don't have any controllers but I plan on getting the showtime starter package on the next sale.

Thank you in advance, any help would be much appreciated!

Mike

I imagine you set the unit ID in the Hardware Utility but left the dip switch in the controller “on”.

if so turn the dip switch off and set the unit ID manually in the HU and not the controller

What unit ID are you trying to use and how many controllers are ahead of it in your setup?

JR

Watch this video- all pixies are the same , the only dif

is the number of unit IDs it will use.

Make sure that the channel info in the preview matches the actual channel configuration in use. 

Regular channel 1 and AuxA channel 1 are different and can cause this during playback but HW utility doesn't care.

network preference can show how you are actually configured. 

Edited by TexasLights

SUCCESS!!! Excellent information here, thank you!! 

I changed the unit ID to 40 and and configured the network according to the instructions given by dibblejr and wa la.

Next question: How do I get the CL comm. listener to stop throwing an error after I disconnected the USB from the unit? I try to "x" it out but it comes right back up again.