Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixcon16 fuse question

SeeFromSpace

Greetings,

just designing a new Bethlehem RGB star prop. This is my first try at doing RGB. I have done LOR AC shows for the past couple of years. I have a pixcon16 controller which I have not used as yet. I want to use a number of hi count LED strip lights. I have been looking at ws2812B 5V strip lights with a count of 96 LED's per meter. The longest leg on my star would take 136 LED's. I calculated the wattage for 136 LED's at 40.8 watts or 8.16 amps. Of course the pixcon16 is fused at 4 amps per port. My question is - do I have to break the 136 LED's to  a couple of pixel ports or will power injection at one or two points along the strip  reduce the load on that pixcon16 4 amp fuse?

Any certain reason for using 5 volt over a 12 volt strip ??

5V x 4A = 20 watts <or> 12V x 4A = 48 watts

Edited by KYHI

I thought that the ws2812b strip was only available at 5v. I know that the ws2811 strips are available at 12 v but are often controlled in three LED groups. So would love to hear if the ws2812b strips are available in 12v

2 hours ago, SeeFromSpace said:

I thought that the ws2812b strip was only available at 5v. I know that the ws2811 strips are available at 12 v but are often controlled in three LED groups. So would love to hear if the ws2812b strips are available in 12v

ws2813b will be the 12v version. I have some 13's that are 12v however the same mfg i have has an upgrade its ws2811 15 (didnt look right when I put all of the 1's together)

Rechecked my numbers with a magnifier, mine are 15's as well. Not 13's. Was going to use them on some small versions of singing faces but i found 5mm nodes instead.

JR

Edited by dibblejr

And you say a ws2813 will operate on a pixcon 16? My understanding is that the ws2813 has two data lines that make it able to bypass a burnout pixel. If you can use a ws2813 on a pixcon16 how do you wire it. Thanks