Light-O-Rama Forums

Configuration Channel/Prop Export/Import Mass Rename

Dennis Warren

13 years of S2 thru S4. Now need to morph my brain to S5 🙃.  I have in the past exported S4 Channel Config, hand changed names in mass and imported the changes. At the moment I'm a challenged S5 newbie. My challenge today is to do the same but in in S5.  I've tried the Grid Configuration > Export, made my changes to the names of the props (LOR Reg not RGB yet) then imported using same method. The names are not updating. What am I missing? 

example change  "Unit 01:01" to "H1.0.0.1_Tree 13ft - R"  "Unit 01:02" to "H1.0.0.2_Tree 13ft - G"  and so forth...

I looked around at the Preview but didn't see anything there mentioned in another thread.

I did the Grid Configuration since I saw the Export and Import. Not really seeing that in the preview as in export the entire xml, edit and then import the changes.

Sounds like you exported the grid configuration when you needed to export the preview. Go to your preview in the right hand popout tab and right click - fourth option down is "Export." You can also select it (again in that right side popout) and click the icon with the left facing green arrow. However, you really shouldn't have to export the changes unless you're switching computers. Any sequence that references that file will have the changes.

• Like 1

Gotcha...  I did this a couple times. My mistake is not scrolling to the right far enough using Notepad++. The old file export put the channel names right at the top. The preview export adds the prop name way to the right.

Thank you for the reply and help.  Off to my next challenge...  I'm creating 450+ Props to cover my migration to S5 and creating groups to cover things like 13ft trees with 18 channels.  ;)