Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixie16 - Must every channel have the same number of pixels?

johnhalbert3

I am a newbie to pixels.    I have a pixie16 and want to convert some of the house outline that I have done with regular xmas lights to rgb pixels, but not every outline is the same length (garage outline (~150 pixel lights) vs window outline (~80 pixel lights). Assuming that I set the Pixel16 to unit id 1, port 1 is unit id 1, port 2 is unit id 2, etc (correct?).  Assume that the garage is connected to port 1 and the window is port 2 -

In the S4 pixel editor, I create 2 props, one for each port (each with different unit id's for each port) each with different pixels lengths? Or is there some other better way?

John

9 minutes ago, johnhalbert3 said:

I am a newbie to pixels.    I have a pixie16 and want to convert some of the house outline that I have done with regular xmas lights to rgb pixels, but not every outline is the same length (garage outline (~150 pixel lights) vs window outline (~80 pixel lights). Assuming that I set the Pixel16 to unit id 1, port 1 is unit id 1, port 2 is unit id 2, etc (correct?).  Assume that the garage is connected to port 1 and the window is port 2 -

In the S4 pixel editor, I create 2 props, one for each port (each with different unit id's for each port) each with different pixels lengths? Or is there some other better way?

John

No, that was easy.

I have found no difference in the speed of a string having 24 pixels or a string with 156 pixels. (my max roof outline longest peak run) with the pixie series controllers.

JR

Edited by dibblejr

You said:

Pixie16 - Must every channel have the same number of pixels?

Terminology correction.  There are 16 ports or outputs on a Pixie 16 - NOT 16 "channels".  Each port or output will have many channels (three per pixel normally).  Referring to the outputs from a pixel controller as channels will only cause confusion.

• Like 1

23 minutes ago, KYHI said: