Light-O-Rama Forums

How do I program a simple 16 channel song??

crobs808

What's the best way to make a sequence? I have tried Midi import (but then those beats are not on my props, AND there are way too many of them, over 16). I have tried Beat and VU detection on an MP3 file and that was disasterous, even though the beat is very clear. I tried manually doing it by toggling on cells when i saw peaks, but that doesn't match when I click play. I also tried the Tap wizard (since I am a musician, and can keep a beat) but it doesn't toggle anything, it just makes grids and those grids aren't correct. It would be SO easy if I could map keyboard characters to channels. Q = 1, W=2, E = 3, etc...but I actually cannot get the keyboard to actually lay down a toggled cell. I have tried the arrow keys, spacebar, nothing recognizes. To be clear, I just wan ON and OFF (no shimmer, twinkle, fades, or any of that)

Anyway, I am feeling a bit hopeless. What have you all found is the best way to do this? I am happy to put in 4 or 8 hours or work for 1 song, I just want to make sure I am on the right path. Thank you!

My hardware: LOR1602Wg3-MP3g4

Edited by crobs808

Create a new freeform timing grid: http://www1.lightorama.com/help/toolbar_timing_grid_menu.htm

Playback can be started and stopped using the spacebar. You can create timing marks during playback by pressing the "T" key. Kind of like the Tapper Wizard, but you can use the keyboard and you see the immediate result.

Matt

Let me clarify. When I use the tapper wizard, it blinks the square (so I know it is getting my input), but then when I am done and click Apply/Exit it just shows a modified grid (no actual toggles of anything on). That modified grid only has half the number of spaces it needs to, so when I manually click to toggle cells afterwards, things are just constant on, instead of momentary on.

Edited by crobs808