Light-O-Rama Forums

G3 Mp3 director Issues.. I am having glitches... Comparing sd card sizes and possibly missing something during write session

GriswoldStyle

So I am using S4 software version 4.4.6  but I have noticed a bit of confusing details regarding sd cards. The manual as someone pointed out states up to 8gb sd card towards the end of the manual. However I have been using 16 gb cards for the last 3 years without issue including last year which was my first year using the g3 director. Before that was the mini director... . This year it seems to be hit or miss when I write an sd card and the same card will bring different results each time I write to sd card and the only thing that changed this year was I added a pixel tree. Every time I write a different sd card for the show, I get different results. Some are glitchy and some are great. Keep in mind I am using a kingston on every write session just different sizes. This year I added a 16x50 pixel tree. I have it on enhanced network 500k. That is running through aux A network. That is the only thing on that network due to previous issues with g3 controller not working well when I started testing and getting stuck on random shimmers to a channel (randomized not always the same channel) So needless to say after replacing all cat5e cables, nothing changed. Burned a new sd card and problem went away. So I started experimenting with different kingston sd cards and found almost every single one of them yielded different results. A couple leave pixels on during transitions like a lag behind when it should be off, some would glitch out regular network channels with a random shimmer and some leave a very mild but noticeable white haze of the tree when it should be black or off in the background coloring. By that I mean some effects when they come on such as an image will have pixels on very very mildly when they should be off completely. To me it is visible but to my guests they would think it is part of the show. It