Light-O-Rama Forums

First Year LOR Newbie - Need suggestions on basics

ClarkWGriswold06

Happy pre-holiday lighting everyone!

Im brand new to using a controller, RGB/LED etc., and although I’ve watched tons of videos, im a little confused on which items I need to get started. I DO completely understand its late to be starting, so i am not looking for a fully animated setup this year, but it would be nice to get a strong foundation on my “equipment” this year and tinker with sequencing next. This year perhaps just some blinking, ramp up/down etc. i may just buy a few premade sequences.

I do work in IT for a living so picking up software comes naturally to me. So for a long story short, what exactly do I need? 

from what ive gathered so far:

at least a 16 channel residential controller

Software

speakers (have these)

cabling, of which i have TONS...

lights - this is my main confusion. Do i want LED bulbs? Smart pixels? Not sure which ones work with the controller and if i should only buy lights from LOR or if there are big box stores that sell comparable items?

any suggestions would be amazing!

Your question requires more questions sort of. If you have purchased a CTB16PC residential controller like i think you stated, then Standard LED or Incandescent light strings is what you need to use.

Smart Pixels require a completely different controller and power supply. Pixie or Pixcon I think are the RGB controllers, but I do not use those so I don't want to advise there.

Cabling like you state is SPT or standard extension cords I hope you mean.

26 minutes ago, ClarkWGriswold06 said:

Happy pre-holiday lighting everyone!