Light-O-Rama Forums

Channel views disappear when previews are changed back and forth

patsfandec

I am just learning the S5 suite since I upgraded. 

I have 3 previews to view different sides of my house. I set up a couple of channel views but when I switch between previews, it wipes out my channel views even when I go back to the preview I built the channel view in. 

Is that normal? Is there a way to fix it?

Thanks

If I understand your situation, you have multiple previews, and you want to have a different channel arrangement when you switch previews.  Assuming this is for the same songs - by that, I mean, Preview 1 has the left side of the house and Preview 2 has the right side of the house, and you sequence one side and then the other side within the same sequence file.  After you load one Preview and arrange the channels the way you want, export the view configuration.  Do the same thing for the other preview.  Because you are working from the same sequence file, I don't think you can have different views based on what Preview is selected.  But it's easy to load "the other" view configuration after swapping Previews.

The other query is do all of the Previews have ALL of the channels (even if some of them are just parked over in the corner in a "ignore this" pile - or hidden)?  If not, you could end up with problems with archiving props every time you switch, and the Preview used for show playing must have all the channels.

No luck.

I create a view with a preview selected and export that configuration.

I then assign another preview to that sequence and build a new channel view and save that. If I inadvertently select the old channel view in that preview, it overwrites my original channel preview when I go back to the old original preview.

Did you save the second configuration view with a new file name?