Light-O-Rama Forums

Complete Newb needing help

blueninja

I am a complete newb at this so bear with me. I work at a church that is planning to do a small light show in the near future so I was tasked with purchasing equipment and what not.

We have the LOR 1602 controller with the Director, software, etc. I understand hooking lights up to the powered ends in the controller and connecting controller to Director, my struggle is with the lights themselves and how to correctly wire them to the controller.

I bought some ALITOVE DC 12V WS2811 12mm Diffused Digital RGB LED Pixel Light Individually Addressable Round LED Module lights from Amazon thinking it should be simple enough, but as I said I'm a complete newb. After receiving everything I'm at a loss of how to connect everything. The lights have what I discovered to be a 3 pin JST SM connector on each end of the strand with another 2 wires coming off each end as well with no connector on them, just ready for soldering. I assume I can connect them in sequence using the 3 pin connectors but how do I connect them to the controller we bought? Is there more equipment we need? Can I slap an SPT-1 end on the 2 wires and just plug in that way? Would I be able to address each pixel individually? How can I make these lights work with what we have or do I need more items?

Thanks for bearing with this uneducated newb!

2 minutes ago, blueninja said:

I am a complete newb at this so bear with me. I work at a church that is planning to do a small light show in the near future so I was tasked with purchasing equipment and what not.

We have the LOR 1602 controller with the Director, software, etc. I understand hooking lights up to the powered ends in the controller and connecting controller to Director, my struggle is with the lights themselves and how to correctly wire them to the controller.