Jump to content

Recent Changes to Groups in v5.5.x Forced Me Back to v5.4.2


Recommended Posts

Hi All,

Has anyone experienced any issues with Groups?  I recently upgraded to 5.5.x and have experienced all sorts of problems that have forced me back to 5.4.2.  I use a lot of groups in my preview and noticed v5.5.x did not recognize them.  I also noticed the name now contains "(Group)" in the title.  I don't remember seeing that before.  Also, after making some recent changes to my preview, I noticed many of my props were duplicated (the same name but with an added "(2)" in the title).  Worst of all, my most recent preview was basically wiped out.  Not sure if it was related to this issue or if I mistakenly did something wrong.  I should be able to recover from a recent backup but will still require some time to get back up.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I updated to 5.5.4 as soon as it came out and have not noticed any problems with either groups (I have lots) or previews.  The addition of group to the name of groups was added a couple releases ago because there are places where you can't easily tell a group from a prop with the same name.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, k6ccc said:

I updated to 5.5.4 as soon as it came out and have not noticed any problems with either groups (I have lots) or previews.  The addition of group to the name of groups was added a couple releases ago because there are places where you can't easily tell a group from a prop with the same name.

 

I have a similar problem as the OP. I have 6 singing faces groups. I have one prop and one prop outline that is magically in the grid view on its own. it is also part of one of the groups. When I try to remove it, it removes the prop out of the group. In my case it is my monster singing face group (4) Mr. Skull. When I try to archive it takes Mr Skull out of the group.

I will live with it for HAlloween but my OCD gets the better half of m when I see it just out there.

JR

Just now, dibblejr said:

I have a similar problem as the OP. I have 6 singing faces groups. I have one prop and one prop outline that is magically in the grid view on its own. it is also part of one of the groups. When I try to remove it, it removes the prop out of the group. In my case it is my monster singing face group (4) Mr. Skull. When I try to archive it takes Mr Skull out of the group.

I will live with it for HAlloween but my OCD gets the better half of m when I see it just out there.

Yes, I upgraded to 5.5.4

JR

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for all the feedback from everyone.  I'm not sure what I did and I hope I don't do it again.  I think it happened when I updated my preview.  Somehow most of my RGB props and groups were erased from my current preview and then when I opened up a sequence using an older preview all of my groups and RGB props were duplicated.  I ended up deleting my LORPreviews file and letting the software build a new one from the loredit file.  I had to manually delete all the duplicates and then I copied and pasted effects from archived channels from the sequence that lost its preview into a new sequence.  In the process of all this I did upgrade back to 5.5.4 with no issues.  Hopefully I don't have to (fingers crossed) make any more changes to my preview.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Always keep a spare copy of your current previews by going into the Sequencer Preview tab and clicking the copy preview button.

Additionally the LORPreview.xml file makes a.BAK backup of itself. I also make a copy of the LORPreviews.xml file with the date in the backup's filename, just in case I totally screw things up.

We all need protecting from ourselves, once in a while.

And of course everything is backed up to my server and Dropbox.

You should also export your grid view groups using the Sequence/Grid View/Export option, when you get them how you like them.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I had the same issue as the OP. When I opened my first sequence in 5.5.4, I was prompted to match up items from old and new previews. When I clicked ok, things were screwed up. When I clicked "Revert to previous preview" things were fine and back to normal. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...