Light-O-Rama Forums

16x25 pixel tree with LOR Pixie8 and WS2811

Doug75

Hello

Im a Newbie planning to build a 16x25 pixel tree using a LOR Pixie8 controller and addressable   WS2811 strings.

I will use 8 x 50 WS2811 12mm 12V strings, folded and uncut to give 16 by 25 pixels. The controller has 8 channels so how would I configure this setup in the software?

Would I need to set this up as 8 channels with 50 pixels or  16 channels with 25 pixels

I already have the Pixie8, and the WS2811s. Do I need to get the USB-485HS adapter also?

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards,

Doug75

When you create the Preview in the Sequencer for the tree, you define it as having 8 strings with 50 nodes and that each string is folded 1 time. The Sequencer knows how to set up the channels. To drive the Pixie8 you will need the USB485-HS adapter.

Bob W

FWIW Each Node is 3 channels (which is why Smart pixels need the top leve license)

You have 8 ports on your Pixie 8, each port will have 50 nodes (And Yes, YOU NEED A HS ADAPTER)

I can't tell you (you have 5.x), but you need to tell it that node 51 (channel 153) reverses

Hello

Thanks to BobW and The Ducks for the quick reply.

As soon as I receive the HS adapter I'll try  a thing and see what happens.

i'll report to you Guys.

Kindest regards,

Doug75

If you're using an MP3 Director like the G3 or G4 {N4-G3 MP3}, the red HS adapter isn't completely necessary, it's only needed if you run your display{show} from the computer. 

But still good to have one for testing purposes when sequencing. This is so you can see how things are going to work and look, before writing the actual show to an SD Card, again, if using an Director unit.

• 4 weeks later...