Light-O-Rama Forums

Timers for LOR controllers

redsea300

This is my first year. I know i am going to run my #1 controller 24/7 because i am playing music during off times. I am wondering if you let the other 11 controllers stay on all the time or do you use timers to shut them off.
Thanks in advance Don

Some leave them on, some turn them off. I recall that someone mentioned last year that they leave there on because of moisture. The minimal amount of heat generated by the transformer inside a control box helps prevent moisture. Not sure if that's true or not, but the explination made sense to me.

I left mine on 24/7 during the season last year and I intend to do the same.

NOTE: last year's 24/7 does not count the 1 week power outage after a bad storm. :)

Some like to power them down, but I haven't heard a convincing reason (to me) for it. Leaving them on takes minimal power, might (as noted above) help with condensation, and lets the computer/show director drive everything without worrying about yet another detail...

-Tim

Tim Fischer wrote:

Leaving them on takes minimal power...

I measured my controllers and they only use 1w when not doing anything. I decided to leave them on like Tim says for "one less thing to worry about". :)

-Jeff

I'm in the same mindset with Tim and others. Mine stay on all the time. I've noticed little to no condensation build-up in the units when I leave them on. As someone said, just a tiny amount of internal heat will help more than you realize. As I recall the non-running state of a 1602 controller is rated at 5 watts max, but I see it is typically under 3 watts for mine.