Light-O-Rama Forums

Command Line Activation.

seamanrob

I know its been asked before, and Dan did say on a thread written in 2005 that he would as the programmer if there was any way of activating a show via windows command line (C prompt)., but it was never really answered successfully.

Has anyone had any experience with starting a show from the terminal window or c prompt. Its just that I want to write a batch file / touch screen routine that sits outside the front of my house and when the touch screen is pressed, the batch file runs and the show runs on demand.

Im not running in standalone mode, i need to interface with this pc in order to get it working.

Any suggestions welcome. ;)

Im a total newb with LOR but have done some batch file work and perl programming in the past.

Rob

I can understand your need if you want the visitor to be able to select from one of many songs like in a random jukebox style, but if your goal is simply to start the program running, you can use an existing feature... external trigger switch.

thanks richard, but i was under the impression the external switch triggered a standalone unit, and not a pc (I dont have a director card controlling the units - its straight from the computer).

Is this not the case? If not, how would I go about setting up the external switch. or is it the same as normal - between the two pins on the CTB16D controller?

As of RIGHT NOW the director card is the EASIEST way to do this - it supports 6 triggers. Dan has said there will be a card out down the road that will plug into the network and send the triggers back to the computer - the USB booster connector is required from the available documentation.

Harrison

hbomb341 wrote: