Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie setting up a matrix

HighOrder1

Hello all. This is my first year with LOR. I’m running the latest version of S5, just updated on 12/10.  I recently purchased a 12v Pixie 16. I built two pixel arches and managed to get those sequenced properly. My question is, I built a 30x30 pixel matrix. I’m not sure where to start with adding it into the preview design. I want to run it on channels 1-9. I need to know if I need to cut my pixels down to 30 per row, remove 10 per strand, and have each one begin and end at the beginning and end of the matrix. I originally used all 100 pixels per strand on the board and it left the strands starting and ending in various places in the matrix. I saw where you could label individual pixels, but I couldn’t decipher the naming convention. I didn’t want to spend hours upon hours naming pixels or cutting my strands down before asking for assistance on here. Thanks in advance to anyone that can provide some guidance. 

• 2 weeks later...

High Order, are you still working on this, and need help?

As you have a Pixie16, that is up to 100 pixels per port, and you've used 2 of those for the arches right?   So I would set it up as 90 lights per string, with 2 loops and each string is 90 pixels.  You'll need to inject power ( would do it at the end of the 100 line).   That would use up 10 of your ports to do that.  A single power supply should be able to handle 900 pixels easily. 

If you're having trouble still, then reply... 

9 hours ago, scubanimal said:

High Order, are you still working on this, and need help?

As you have a Pixie16, that is up to 100 pixels per port, and you've used 2 of those for the arches right?   So I would set it up as 90 lights per string, with 2 loops and each string is 90 pixels.  You'll need to inject power ( would do it at the end of the 100 line).   That would use up 10 of your ports to do that.  A single power supply should be able to handle 900 pixels easily.