Light-O-Rama Forums

USB 485 up in smoke

yldjack

been having problems since I tried to do Halloween show  it ran for 2 days np then

no communication to the controllers, I checked all cable connections everything was good so I ordered a new 485  plugged it in and worked for 2 days went to help desk they had no answers so they sent it to engineering they had nothing either so they sent me a new one 

I also ordered a new highspeed 485

now Christmas is here started my set up a little every night running each night until tonight same thing com port is open cant run so I switch out to the highspeed 485  just to 1 controller  PUFF magic white smoke.

I have been running LOR for 9 years now I us a XP laptop that is stand alone no internet  only used to run my shows

I have gone thru 4 USB 485 where is my problem is my laptop doing this

First question (since you have years of LOR under your belt): What changed or was added that was not there previous years.

(and what controllers are on the failing network)

Do check the USB ports have only 5V +/- .25V   (I can't imagine just the ports with issues as 5V is used thru out the mainboard )

Halloween I ran 1 16ch and 2 -  cmb24 for my dumb leds

I had to change ends on cat5 

I'm an electrician and used test equipment to test cables  after adding new ends nothing other than that new

from Christmas  the 16 ch  I used for Halloween is not hooked up yet I have 2 16 ch  and 4 cmb24 now was ready  to add the other 16 ch 

al controllers  laptop 3" away from first controller

Edited by yldjack

1 hour ago, yldjack said:

Halloween I ran 1 16ch and 2 -  cmb24 for my dumb leds

I had to change ends on cat5 

I'm an electrician and used test equipment to test cables  after adding new ends nothing other than that new

from Christmas  the 16 ch  I used for Halloween is not hooked up yet I have 2 16 ch  and 4 cmb24 now was ready  to add the other 16 ch 

al controllers  laptop 3" away from first controller