Light-O-Rama Forums

Most effeicient way to sequence

chowell

I am new to LOR this year but have been working with S2 off and on since February or so. I have my 1:30 intro sequenced, and one other song. So far, I have found I am spending 12-15 hours total on a song. Granted, It is split into 1 and 2 hour sessions which does not help with continuity. I have heard guys mention getting songs done in 4-5 hours. What am I doing wrong, or more so, just not doing right? I hear guys talking about the beat wizard vs. the tapper wizard. I used the tapper wizard on my first two songs, but my third one is a medley of 8 songs. I am wanting to do some effects with the lyrics, not just the beat. Would you guys tap out the lyrics instead of the beat in that situation?

I am just looking for some input on the way you guys sequence. I read a post a while back from a kid who says he has over 30 songs sequenced this year. That would take me years at this rate, LOL. I am wondering if I am trying to get too fancy or just not using the wizard correctly as a good beat indicator.

I would appreciate any input.

Thanks.
Corey

Since the introduction of the Beat Wizard in S2, there is no reason to use the Tapper Wizard to tap beats. The Tapper Wizard still is the best way to do effects with the lyrics (e.g. talking pumpkins).

In your medley, I would do this: Start with no timings. Run the Beat Wizard, but select "Just part of the song" and do the individual songs in the medley separately. To do this, you need to know when each song starts and ends. You actually should to this whenever the tempo changes, since the Beat Wizard has trouble with tempo changes. Use the "Preview" function of the Beat Wizards. When you have the start and end times of the song, and the preview looks good, use the "Apply" button, and then go to the next song in the medley.