Light-O-Rama Forums

Connecting power supply to pixie 8 controller

jgcorl

Ok so I am kind of new to this, so hopefully someone can help me out.  I have a pixie 8 controller and a 200W power supply from the store.  The controller has screw down connections for the power supply, but the ends of the power supply have pronged ends that will not fit into the screw down hole.  Not sure if I should cut the prongs and feed in the wire or if there is a connector I could get.  Help is appreciated!  Thanks.

12 minutes ago, jgcorl said:

Ok so I am kind of new to this, so hopefully someone can help me out.  I have a pixie 8 controller and a 200W power supply from the store.  The controller has screw down connections for the power supply, but the ends of the power supply have pronged ends that will not fit into the screw down hole.  Not sure if I should cut the prongs and feed in the wire or if there is a connector I could get.  Help is appreciated!  Thanks.

Picture (or link to datasheet) is worth 1K words 👍

Store? Whose

Pronged ends?  Pins?

First of all, A pixie 8 has  2 sets of Bank inputs

If you have a Gen 1 : it uses .25 Faston connections

If you have a Gen 2: It uses bare wire or Ferreled leads (preferred). These insert into the side hole, and the screw clamps the wire/ferrel. just pay attention to + and -

You need to make 2 sets of connections (Banks 1 and 2)  for Either style

32 minutes ago, jgcorl said:

You can cut the ends off or go to HC and purchase a power pigtail for about $3. That is what I use for the 50 or so pixie controllers I have built.

If cutting the ends off you need to know which wires are which.

You can watch my build videos by going to the General HArdware section and pasted at the top will be my pixie configuration writeup. There is a video attached, go to that video and look for my build video. Sorry I am not in a place where I can send a link.

JR

Edited by dibblejr

On 11/9/2019 at 11:18 AM, Mr. P said: