Light-O-Rama Forums

Running New Electrical - Need Help

chowell

Alright, here is the situation. This year I am running 80 channels of LOR. It is my first year and I plan to expand as each year progresses. I know many of you run many more channels than that. What I would like to know is, just how many circuits do you guys use?

If these are 30 amp controllers, my electrician says he can turn 1 socket into 2 circuits by separating the connector. If they are run with 20 amp breakers with 12-3 wiring, this would essentially make each socket a 40amp service socket. Then you could plug one side of the 15amp controller into the top plug, and the other side into the bottom plug. However, If I were to expand to say....10 or 15 controllers one day, that is a ton of circuits being used up. In this situation, a guy who has 300+ channels of LOR would be using 18+ circuits. Is this correct? Are you guys using that much power?

Or...

Is everyone just plugging 1 LOR controller into a 20amp socket, and being sure not to overload the circuit?

Or...

Is there a way to create a 30amp socket? I know 10-2 supports 30amps, but they don't make a standard plug for 30amp service do they?

Getting ready to start the electrical expansion so your feedback would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks in advance Guys and Gals.
Corey

Corey -

In my case, I have run a 20A circuit to each side of each controller. I do not use the full 20 amps on any side of any controller, but that doesn't mean I won't in the future. It is much cheaper to run the 2x20A service now, than to run a 15 for each side (or a single 20 for both sides) now, and find out next year or the year after that your new plans require 20A per side.

Just my two cents worth.

D.T.

Is there a way to create a 30amp socket? I know 10-2 supports 30amps, but they don't make a standard plug for 30amp service do they?