Light-O-Rama Forums

How early do you start for Christmas?

airborneSRT

This is my first year of 32 channels of lights to set up, I am wondering more and more as I read these forums if I shouldn't start the beginning of October. I decorate normal for Halloween too! As for you more experienced and further in the addition how long does it take you to setup you monster displays? Here is a design concept of what I plan on doing.house2.thumb.JPG.3261155422e36b1e98e7f62da6b21f7f.JPG

I start January 15th, by then I know what I didn't like or didn't work on the previous show plus what I want to add to this years show.  Do a mockup in the sequencer and start a "wish list" for parts.

The great thing about pixels is they can be used for Halloween and Christmas.  I start on house outline, windows, etc in mid September usually.   Halloween display comes down November 1st and its 200+ hours setting up Christmas display.   Thanksgiving night the show begins

That looks like a pretty basic setup.  Shouldn't take long to do.  I on the other hand start about Oct 15.

• Thanks 1

I install the GE Color Effects pixel bulbs on my eves and roofline in mid October.  They get used for Halloween.  Nothing goes out in the yard until the first weekend after Halloween.  My goal has been to be essentially completed with setup by the end of the weekend a week and a half before Thanksgiving.  That gives me time to test and tweek anything that needs it.

Well i start on the first Weekend in November and every weekend and some days until December, plenty of time to set-up and check for problems

I am starting now.  Just finished a (dumb RGB 94 ) Star of David/Cross/Star (outline) Single color per type: Blue, Red, Green. A lot of splices at every juncture. If I did it again: 135 (est) smart lay flat and a bit of programming .