Light-O-Rama Forums

This may be a rookie question but it’s happened twice now

~DOC~

Part of a string is dimming. Top half. Every bulb is just barely lit. I did it the hard way pulled every light affected and used in another good set. All lights worked fine. I ended up pulling the string off and put another one back on. Now I have another. Any suggestions or is this string just bad.  

Bad bulb maybe?  Adding too much resistance to the line after that bulb?  

I'm no expert, but I'd replace the first dim bulb and/or inspect the strand between it and the last good bulb. 

We are talking about a single strand and not 2 strands end to end?

Is there a bulge just before the dim section: Bad rectifier (chubby bulge) or wrong resistor (slim buldge).

Or is one light OUT. (bad bulb in a just keeps burning string). Or you have a 'flasher bulb in that section

resistor at the end a string of LEDs. You can find it inside a little weatherproof cap along the string. A 50 cent fix at an electronics store. In my case it was a 1.8K Ohm 5% 2W resistor. Just replace with the leads bent upwards inside the holder.

check make sure the bulb holders are not rusted. Which could  Cause a resistance .

Check the wire for any cuts. Might have a small short from the wires having a small cut and shorting out. 

Edited by Richard365

1 hour ago, k6ccc said:

What kind of strings?

Holiday time lights from Walmart never had this issue with these lights. Usually it’s just lights out.

1 hour ago, Richard365 said:

resistor at the end a string of LEDs. You can find it inside a little weatherproof cap along the string. A 50 cent fix at an electronics store. In my case it was a 1.8K Ohm 5% 2W resistor. Just replace with the leads bent upwards inside the holder.

check make sure the bulb holders are not rusted. Which could  Cause a resistance .

Check the wire for any cuts. Might have a small short from the wires having a small cut and shorting out.