Light-O-Rama Forums

Spectrum gone?

Denny

I don't use Spectrum, but just read that it was no longer being used or supported by D-Light. The way I read things is that D-Light is going to be hardware only? I am totally confused; even though I am firmly committed to LOR, I thought the competition was really good between the two. And now, what is Aurora?:shock::shock::shock:

http://www.d-light.us/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=135&Itemid=1

I'm not an expert on D-Light, but from what I understand, there is a new version of Spectrum coming out, and pending that, the old version has been discontinued. Perhaps not the best way of doing things, but who am I to judge their business practices.

One of the things that the new version is supposed to do is to support 'Firefly' in advanced mode (16 channels) rather than legacy mode (48 channels).

John,

This is from the D-Lights website, "Effective immediately, we are discontinuing sales and support of all versions of Spectrum. This was not a decision that was made lightly, but it is a decision that will ultimately benefit you, our customers.

In an effort to ease the transition from Spectrum, we have made arrangements with www.Aurorashow.com to extend a special offer to current owners of Spectrum. Aurora will be available on September 2, 2008. "

yep, saw that announcement after I finished with this forum and move to Planet Christmas.

It appears that if you buy a D-Light controller, you get Aurora, but if you already have your controllers and Spectrum, not sure that there is anything you can do except buy Aurora. I hope they add a significant discount for Spectrum owners who do not need any more controllers... There appear to be some features in the new controllers which are not supported by LOR at present. It sounds like D-Light users are currently in a 'twilight zone'. Probably will all work out eventually, but I'm glad I'm not depending on D-Light for this year's show.