Light-O-Rama Forums

Newb in Colorado

marcmiller04

Hey all, 

new to this whole animated idea, but want to expand it as we go.  I bought one of the packages, with the 16 channel controller and the mini director, with the pro software package.

I have been buying LED lights and playing with the layout in my head, but now that I am reading deeper into everything am starting to wonder if I under bought, or should have gone straight to the pixels...

I have about 1/4 acre in the front of my house which is where the majority of the lights will go.  we have a few yard decorations, 2 small wood trees and 4 candy canes plus some inflatables and stuff like that.  I want to keep the inflatables on all the time, but everything else is kind of open.

my background is a little bit of networking and info security so I get the idea of being able to do the networking and sequencing...

The hardware and the requirements for lights is where I am most lost at this point.  Someone said that they started with 48 channels and are now at 55k...  Seems crazy ridiculously expensive, but then when I was reading it seems like when using pixels, a small number of them equals 1 channel.  So, that is where I am starting to get confused.  It seems like Pixels is the way to go long term and for flexibility...

Not sure if I got my questions or concerns out, I am pretty exhausted, but yeah, that's where I am at for now.

I've been reading for hours and am starting to get to mush...

Thanks

Welcome Marc 

Starting with one or a few AC controllers will get you used to the concepts.  Expanding is natural if you like it.   10 years I think..one controller to forty something.  

Newb in C...

The channel count goes crazy (er) only when you use Smart RGB. Every node becomes a 'channel'

AC controllers lets you use most of the lights you have. Care is needed for any string/display with electronics near the plug (color changing, DC wall wort) or the magic smoke will escape.