Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR Audio Question

Sean G.

Hi,

I am new with LOR. I am 14 and I'm finished setting up my LOR 16-channel unit with RS 485B adapter.

I have sequenced two songs myself and I just bought two Insignia outdoor speakers and a receiver for my show.

I would like to know the best way to hook up these outdoor speakers. What kind of woofer do I need? My computer woofer seems too small.

I have Windows XP on a Gateway computer.

thank you!

LOL: LifeOfLights!

Since you have the receiver/amplifier and the speakers all you need is a cable to connect the computer to the amp. You need a “Y” cable that goes from 1/8” stereo mini jack to two (Right and Left) RCA plugs.

Plug the 1/8” jack into the computer speaker output and the RCA jacks into the amp. Use the CD or Tape inputs as the phono inputs have preamps that will distort the audio.

You will have to adjust the output of your computer so that it doesn’t ‘over drive’ the amp and distort the output. A subwoofer really shouldn't be needed. Your speakers will be fine.

Place your speakers in a good location and test your system. It is as easy as that!

Now, get back to work sequencing! Christmas is only 127 days away!!! :]

- Dave

Attached files 156091=9005-jack1.jpg

Hi Dave,

Thanks for your reply. I have another question.

So, I get a cable like the photo and plug one end into the computer woofer outlet, and the other end into the L & R speaker plugs? Right now the cable I have plugs only into one speaker outlet on the receiver. And the computer woofer won't allow me to plug in the second speaker.

I am also not sure exactly what cable to ask for at the store. Thank you again.

LOL: LifeOfLights

A 'woofer' output only outputs the low frequencies which a woofer can handle and is connected only to a subwoofer unit or a subwoofer amplifier. You probably won't be using it at all for your display.