Light-O-Rama Forums

Lighting just a portion of prop/pixel strip

butlerlj

I'm having a brain fade or just can't find out how to light a portion of a prop using S5 sequencer.  I have a smart pixel strip that I want to, starting at one end of a strip, turn on 1/4 of the strip, for a few seconds, then 1/2, 3/4 onto full.   Can this be done?  I know I use to do it pixel by pixel in sequence editor but now in S5......

Thanks, Larry

I am new to S5, but I believe you can program the pixels the same way you did it in S4.  When you click the + sign next to the prop in the sequence editor, all the pixels become exposed.

22 hours ago, butlerlj said:

I'm having a brain fade or just can't find out how to light a portion of a prop using S5 sequencer.  I have a smart pixel strip that I want to, starting at one end of a strip, turn on 1/4 of the strip, for a few seconds, then 1/2, 3/4 onto full.   Can this be done?  I know I use to do it pixel by pixel in sequence editor but now in S5......

Thanks, Larry

I am not an S5 user however all you should have to do is put a sequence in the time frame (cells) you wish to turn on.

It may also depend on which controller you are using for your pixels but I may be wrong on that.

Hopefully this helps a little.

JR

If you are using the Motion Effect Generator:

1) Choose your effect on the left side (colorwash or any other)

2) In the middle section, set the mix to "Mix_Left_Right", then adjust the slider below for the desired amount of coverage on your prop.

3) If you want to fill from the right instead of the left, then click the swap sides button.

Matt

• Like 1

On 10/3/2018 at 10:14 AM, butlerlj said:

Thanks, Larry

Thanks Matt, that did the trick. I failed to mention my strips are vertical so in the mixer I selected Mix_Bottom_Top

On 10/7/2018 at 10:50 PM, butlerlj said:

Thanks Matt, that did the trick. I failed to mention my strips are vertical so in the mixer I selected Mix_Bottom_Top