Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixel Editor vs S5

Kyle Whitaker

I'm planning on adding a pixel tree for the first time into my display for 2018.  I started playing around with the Pixel Editor and I think I have the basics.  It is my understanding that in S5 it is even better.  Since it is still in Beta (and has been for a long time) I am reluctant to change my sequencing all over to S5 out of fear that I may have to revert back to S4 (and I assume loose everything).  Did anyone use S5 for their live display last Christmas?  Was it stable?  Does anyone have a guess if it will come out of beta by this Christmas?  Thoughts?  Commit now to S5 for this years display or wait?

My 2017 Show was all S4, but the day after I shut down Christmas and restarted the year round landscaping show, the computer running the show went to 5.0.16, and now 5.0.18.  Although my landscape sequences were all created in S4, sometime in the next few weeks I expect to migrate those sequences to S5.

For Christmas 2018, I am doing major changes to my show which will take a lot of effort, and converting to S5 will take a lot of effort, so I am committing to S5 in a hope to combine a little of the effort.

Yes, there are people who ran Christmas 2017 on S5.

Kyle,

See DevMikes last comment in this thread. It would be wise to back up all of your sequences that were done in S4, not because of any problems with S5, just a smart thing to do and this would give you good backups just in case.

Alan...

• Like 1

I have a pro version of s4

where do I download s5?

IF I back everything up off drive and then load S5 and I only mess with a cpl files will the remaining ones be safe if I need to revert on the laptop?

2 minutes ago, racerc20 said:

I have a pro version of s4

where do I download s5?

IF I back everything up off drive and then load S5 and I only mess with a cpl files will the remaining ones be safe if I need to revert on the laptop?