Light-O-Rama Forums

is there an API?

eldoradoboy

ok I am new to LOR this year... for 2006 and 2007 I ran AL and was frustrated that AL(animated lighting) would not help me out on this one...

but anyway after having played with S2 i made the switch to LOR for 2008 back in winter when dan had the ultimate sale on controllers... i got 7 so im rockin for channels this year..

first off.. Im LOVING the S2 compared to having used the Animated director from AL... nice to not have crashes and to be able to do sequences much quicker and better..

the main thing I am looking to do though is this:

1] in Ohio it seems last 2 years we have had torrential rainstorms at least once or twice in december.. which no katter how much insulating, checking, grounding etc i do I always start tripping GFCI's. well last couple years my job has travelled me a lot in december so of course Id have to have someone go to my house and reset the GFCI.. so I could run the show the next night...

my home has a full home automation system on it including watching the weather radar and alerting me of incoming rain etc... I use my security camera software with a video image of the local weather radar on it.. I have it set up so if certain colors showed up in certain areas of the screen it would alert the system... which would in-turn text my cell so then id have to log in remotely and manually turn off my show... except I wasnt always near internet or my PC...

so.... onto 2008 I would Like to be able to write a program that would interface to the LOR S2 program and tell it hey look dont start the show heavy rain is on the way or is here.. but instead run this other show that is audio only explaining to passers by that for safety reasons the show wont be running during the heavy rain.... then once the threat passes.. my system could then start it or scrap it for the night...