Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie...clarification..purcahsing controllers during SALE

David Barnett

Hi Folks, well I'm going to try and take the plunge this year.

I'll hit the sale this Sat. I am going to start with 32 channels..like you say....crawl...walk...run!

I also want the MP3 shhow director setup. I think it would be the best for my setup.

So, do I purchase the MP3 controller, then purcahse a 16 ch. starter pack. I'm not clear if the MP3 is considered a starter pack or not.

Or, do I just purchase the 16ch. controller, along with the MP3 show director; and I'm good to go.

Is there a certain time when the sale starts, or just all day Sat the 21st. I ask, because I'm a professional airlinepilot, I get in late Friday night. Do I need to set my alarm for Sat.:)

Fianlly, I live in the Colleyville(right next to Grapevine,TX) area, that is a city in the Dallas Ft. Worth area. Do any of you live close to me, that maybe I could meet you and visit.

What a great bunch of folks. look forward to learning form you.

Best,

David

The MP3 Director does not control any lights directly, but will direct other controllers. So, for 32 channels you will need either the 32 channel starter package and the Showtime MP3 Director OR the 1602W with MP3 Director and the 16 channel starter package. Which one depends on your preference. The Showtime MP3 Director would allow for you to keep the director indoors and the controllers outdoors by the action. Might not be an issue in Texas, but in colder climes it's nice to be able to update shows without having to venture out in the cold/wind/rain/snow/ice. If you plan on keeping the controllers indoors and running cords to the lights, the 1602W with MP3 Director will cut down on the number of individual hardware elements you have.