Light-O-Rama Forums

newbie..indoor use of LOR for model railroad

don731

Hello everyone,

I am a definite newbie in the process of researching the various holiday light systems. While I love what is possible for your outdoor holiday displays, I am looking to automate some of the functions on my large Lionel O scale toy train layout. My layout is a Disney-type theme park motif, with many Dept. 56 buildings, Mr. Christmas carnival rides, monorails, and Lionel trains.

I am looking for this holiday season to add a fiber optic fireworks and dancing fountain extravaganza, all set to music, just like the Magic Kingdom or Epcot. I've done a little work on this so far, but would be interested in hearing from other LOR users on how they have used the system for their indoor displays. Specific questions include:

1. How does LOR run on a Mac using Windows XP in a dual boot config using VMware fusion?

2. How fast is the response time of the system? If I tell a channel to activate, say, a fiber optic fireworks unit, how fast will it turn on and off?

3. Is there any special requirements for the music file? Will a generic mp3 file work best, or is another file format better?

4. I'm thinking that a 16 channel unit would be enough for my needs. I would use a few channels for dimming the building lights and turning the rides on/off, with most channels operating the show. Water fountain action would be controlled either with the pumps directly, or down the line perhaps servo controlled valves.

Eventually I hope to do a seasonal overlay on the layout with shows themed to not just Christmas, but also Halloween, Easter/Spring, and 4th of July/Summer. We currently host a large neighborhood holiday party in early December, where my layout has it yearly "debut" with our guests excitedly anticipating each year's improvements to the layout.

Cheers,
Don in Chicagoland

Don,