Light-O-Rama Forums

Cannot make the pixels work

Wayne K

I am new to pixel editor. I have a pixie 8 hooked up on a table with only ports 1, 2, 3, 4 with led's on them. In the preview list I created a group called props, Then in the preview design I then have created 3 props under the prop menu. The props are just for testing at this time. under the prop definition window, I have selected RGB Pixels in the left side, in the middle I have played with and tried strings and nodes and the order in the middle window. In the left pane I have selected LOR, I have tried unchecking and checking the boxes. I have put in my unit #s ( I have double checked my channel config with the pixel test in the hardware utility and they match ) I also have a steady red light on the pixie board.

I have Imported a test sequence from SE and it shows the timing grid and the cells. So then I have 3 props showing on the left side of the time line. I have  turned on the cells I want to control and they turn white in the time line. Now I hit the play button and my preview window shows the effect as if it was playing on the controller.

But I cannot for the life of me make the controller work and blinky blinky the pixels. I also have the control lights box checked. I do have a steady on red led on the pixie 8 board

Anyone got any idea what I am missing here?

Thnaks

Wayne

Try the Hardware utility. Make sure you have the correct ID set. Remember the Pixie 8 will use that (starting) value and the next 7..

The HW utility can make the strings do basic stuff. Twinkle, color change, Chase.  Have fun

Then get back to your edits, once you have proved the hardware.

BTW the Pixies have 4 terminals. Did you use the Data terminal (3 lead smart strings)?

Another thing, that there is no INSULATION in the contacts wire clamp (been there )?