Light-O-Rama Forums

RBG Guidance

Septon

Hello, I am very new to RBG.  I wanted to buy 2 RBG CMB24D is a 24 channel Direct Current Controller while on sale here today.  BUT, I can't find the ribbons.  So I found someone selling them and want to ensure i am not an idiot.

I want to run 16 ribbons. RGB Color - IP65 White PCB  - 5M 5050 DC12V 60LEDs/m 5m/lot

With the cards can I use my 12V 30A 360W Power supplies I have here? One for each card?

Can Someone respond back today perhaps?

Thank you.

I would need the specs or a link for the ribbons but I am guessing that they are probably 72 watts per strip since they are 60 LEDs/m. Eight ribbons at 72 watts would be 576w total so your power supply would be too small. I would highly recommend that you look for the 30 LEDs/m as they are usually around 36w per strip and you current PS would be fine.

you used the plural form: Power supplies

You have 2 or 4

Each CMB can have 2 power feeds (1 per 4 out RGB bank/8 outputs) 

Do NOT join the Plus sides if you use 2 supplies, but DO with the negative  (I think the CMB does that for you, but mine is mounted, so I can't verify)

How about 12v 50a 600watt?  Would that do it do you think?

Also, what would be the difference between 30/60, I figured the 60 would be better?

1 minute ago, TheDucks said:

you used the plural form: Power supplies

You have 2 or 4

Each CMB can have 2 power feeds (1 per 4 out RGB bank/8 outputs) 

Do NOT join the Plus sides if you use 2 supplies, but DO with the negative  (I think the CMB does that for you, but mine is mounted, so I can't verify)

Oh.. I have a few power supplied, I have a couple of 12v 15a 180w  I have a couple of 12v 30 360

2 minutes ago, Septon said:

The specs aren't detailed enough but I am pretty sure they will be close to 72w per strip. Here are similar strips that I am only posting as a reference for detailed specs as they are very similar.