Light-O-Rama Forums

FM Station Display Signage Question

MRodTV

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this and have everything functional! Just curious what some of the ways people are using to let passer bys know the radio frequency to tune into? I suppose the most common might be a simple sign with a light pointed on it, but is there a better way?

Thanks in advance!

This is what I did for the first two years.  The sign is about 12 x 18 inches and is just painted plywood.

2014_6_arches.jpg

This year I built some new back lit signs.  This was a quickie photo with my phone that does not at all do it justice.  I need to shoot some better photos.

Tune_To_White_quick.jpg

I just used some Coro masked off what I needed to, and used black spray paint. Mounted to a wire frame and used some Coro to box in and back light

Here's mine from the last several years:

IMG_33761_zps1ef5398b.png

Really like it - had to change to 94.3 last year and was easy peasy to use same sign. They give you the template for many numbers, so just undid the 5 and reconfigured for the 4. Down South broadcasting really kicks in at night and so even though the channel was showing to be clear - wasn't. I like this sign as it's flexible... 550 LEDs really "pop it" too. 

Bought it here: http://www.holidaycoro.com/Tune-To-Radio-Frequency-Sign-p/345.htm

Don't know who originally posted this one - but have seen it a few times. I'm planning to take the sign portion of mine out and make a similar candy cane holder for it for 2017 -

345-4T.jpg

Good instructions here: http://www.planetchristmas.com/Magazine/November2016/#p=20

Well, I learned the hard way this week that I need to mount my sign a bit higher.  I put it right at ground level and we got 8+ inches of snow at home.  My wife sent me a picture and the sign is covered half way up covering the frequency...  So take your snowfall totals into account.  :P

• Like 2

30 minutes ago, whyintheworld said:

So take your snowfall totals into account.