Light-O-Rama Forums

Not sure what to buy

green devil

I'm new here obviously.  Please forgive my ignorance. I have been putting up lights for a few years now and want to sequence them.

I want to have 2 leaping arches, which I'll dedicate 10 channels to, and I'll use the other 6 for my eaves, windows, giant star, ect. I would like to sequence  them to U2's "please come home". 

Can I do this by buying the showtime central starter package, or do I need to buy the residential starter package and run it through my computer, and what else will I need to buy, besides more lights of course.  Thanks for any responses.

May I suggest you look in the coffee shop for used controllers. At this stage in the game with being as new as you are you're going to have to use shared sequences you may not find any shared sequences for a 5 segment leaping Arch. If you find some used controllers you could get 2 of them and use an old computer to keep costs down. Then you can make 8 segment leaping arches which are more common. Not trying to discourage you I'm just trying to bring some reality to your dream. Do you ever get to the Madison Wisconsin area? I might be able to help you out

Edited by Ebuechner

I would like to just have 16 channels the first year to save on some expenses, and add to it when I can get stuff on sale, find deals, ect. I have attached a drawing from when I built my house with some colored coded lines indicating different channels I was planning.  If someone could take a look at it and let me know if it makes sense and is doable I would greatly appreciate it.  I would like to have 2 leaping arches, but if I'm running out of channels and money I wouldn't be opposed to having one large arch if it would look decent. I know Ebeuchner suggested sticking with 8 channels per arch instead of 5 like I had planned for sequencing purposes, and suggested that I have 2 arches. Thanks for the responses/ messages!

christmas light set up.pptx

14 minutes ago, green devil said: