Light-O-Rama Forums

New to LOR, but not computerised Christmas lights

marquisite

Hi there,

I've been running a Christmas display since 1999, computerised since 2005. For the past three years I've used Olsen595 to switch low voltage 24v lights on and off. Most lighting, with the exception of ropelights and some inflatables, are 24v light sets running on 240v AC adapters.

From reading PlanetChristmas, and the Aussie LOR Google group, I believe the LOR products can cater for these light sets, including dimming without the transformer overheating. Is this true?

Also, is it possible to get a complete package PlanetChristmas (ctb16pc) line controller with Australian cordsets (example supply cord) (example output wallplate) set to 240v? I do not like the idea of dealing with mains power (or anything over 36v really) other than plugging the lights into the controller and controller into mains power - screwing ready made cables into place seems safe for me to do too but not much more than that.

Finally, does anybody have a rough estimate on shipping of a controller to Australia via ground (or water surface in this case)?

I'd appreciate some answers before the 'shhh secret sale' ;)

marquisite wrote:

From reading PlanetChristmas, and the Aussie LOR Google group, I believe the LOR products can cater for these light sets, including dimming without the transformer overheating. Is this true?

Do not try to dim a transformer! Last year I had a 4-foot LED tree:
c0607.jpg

This is powered by a 120v AC to 24v AC "wall wart" transformer. I had the transformer plugged into a LOR controller. I knew I shouldn't be dimming it, but I accidentally left a "fade" in one of my sequences. It worked ok for a while, but then it stopped working. Examination of the transformer found the primary open. I cut the plastic case open and found the plastic stuff inside had melted!