Light-O-Rama Forums

DIY Kit Questions

hoby1

Hey Everyone,

I am new to this addicting hobby and have some quesitons. I am looking to purchase the 16 Channel DIY Kit durring the sale and have some questions about the power pigtails comming out of the controler for each channel and how to set it up with my static lights. I have a small display but will want to expand. :D

1. My ultimate goal is have all my lights come on at the same time. So, those of you that do this, do you use a channel from your LOR to control your static lights or do you run those on a seperate timer and power outlet?

2. I've read that it is ok to use SPT2 wire as my output wire from the LOR controler using 16/2 wire and vampire plugs. But what if I want to run my static display off one of my channels? I usually run */3 extension cords and these have a 3 prong plug.

Thanks for the help,

Dan

brewer wrote:

Hey Everyone,

I am new to this addicting hobby and have some quesitons. I am looking to purchase the 16 Channel DIY Kit durring the sale and have some questions about the power pigtails comming out of the controler for each channel and how to set it up with my static lights. I have a small display but will want to expand. :D

1. My ultimate goal is have all my lights come on at the same time. So, those of you that do this, do you use a channel from your LOR to control your static lights or do you run those on a seperate timer and power outlet? I use a timer with a photo sensor to turn my static lights on and off, but if you have a free channel available and you don't exceed the amperage requirements for that channel, you could go that way also.