Light-O-Rama Forums

Fm transmission

Ske65088

Due to the location of my house from the road I will have to mount my fm transmitter on my mailbox. This is about 200ft from a location my computer can be safely placed. Can I use 3.5mm extension cables to connect the fm transmitter or is there a different or better way to achieve the fm station? Thanks for your help

I would suggest a stronger transmitter then use an attenuator to reduce the signal if you had to. The attenuators are cheap too.

This way you keep the transmitter close to the computer and get the distance you need.

But if that is not the affordable option, then yes, a 3.5mm extension cable will work and would probably be the other option.

Thanks Santas Helper. Any recommendations for the stronger transmitter or attenuator. I currently have a "whole house fm transmitter 3 " same as the one sold on the lightorama website. As this is my first attempt at controlled lighting and such I am probably taking on too much for the first year but I want to make it special. Thanks again

Here is a thread referring to a couple of them.

http://forums.lightorama.com/index.php?/topic/36776-fm-transmitter-suggestions/#entry339384

I use a Mobile Black Box V4000 transmitter but they discontinued the V4000. The v6000 is mono so do not purchase that. The v3000 is a newer model I'm not familiar with.

The attenuator depends on what transmitter you buy. Most have the BNC connection but also other variables like the ohms and dB must be considered. Again, depending what transmitter you purchase.

https://www.google.com/search?q=attenuator&oq=attenuator&aqs=chrome.0.69i59j0l5.3296j0j4&sourceid=chrome&es_sm=122&ie=UTF-8#tbm=shop&q=bnc+attenuator