Light-O-Rama Forums

Suggestions for Centralized/Network Data File Structure?

McAllister

I am relatively new to LOR but good with computers.  I am looking for suggestions as to file structures for multiple PCs running LOR.  In my case, I have a desktop that I prefer to sequence at, then have a laptop that I need to take to the garage to run shows from.  What is the best way to save the LMS/MP3 files so that they can be easily accessed from both locations?  Here's possible solutions that I've tried and problems I've run into:

• I have a NAS that automatically gets a nightly backup to an online service, so I'd prefer to put them there.  No problem at home.  I can just map a network drive on both computers and using LORPOST.exe set the program on both PCs to go to the mapped drive.  Problems: 1) when the laptop is away from the network, then it won't have the data files, as windows doesn't support cacheing local copies of network shares. 2) there seems to be lots of files that get opened/closed in the background when a sequence is opened/edited... these are different on the different computers and LORPOST seems to change the location of those "scratch" folders.
  •  
  • Dropbox - Seems like the perfect solution - I tried it though, and again the "scratch" files seems to be a problem.  Just opening the sequence editor causes dropbox to "update" nearly a hundred files that then cascade up/down through dropbox to all my computers (some that don't even use LOR, but are on dropbox!)
  •