Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR and LOR2

Guest guest

After reading over some of the new features coming in 2006, I'm very excited. However, I'm in a bit of a quandry. Since I am brand new to computerized lighting, I don't currently own anything. Should I buy my first LOR controller as soon as they are available, or should I wait until the MP3 controller and new LOR2 software comes out.

I'm dying to get my hands on this stuff, but if I'm reading correctly, there may be some hardware incompatabilities. No sense buying stuff that I will have to turn around and ship back for firmware upgrades, because the new wireless connectors and MP3 cards are certainly on my to-do list!

Don - am I reading everything correctly? Whould I be wise to wait for the latest and greatest (a true test of patience...)

Thanks!

~K

Firstly the only thing that you could actually get anytime soon is going to be LOR software. Which you download. Dan is still getting stocked back up right now. The reason a lot of people are purchasing the software now thou is because when the new LOR II software comes out you will be able to upgrade it for free. But if you hold off you are going to have to pay the new price which will be higher than what it is today. A lot of us are anxiously waiting the April sale to get some controllers.

I would wait-you ask why??? because Light-O-Rama is currently out of stock anyway. From what I have read, the new boards will accept LORII software with a firmware update. The only board that will need the update, I believe is the ctb08 board.

Kaeleb wrote:

After reading over some of the new features coming in 2006, I'm very excited. However, I'm in a bit of a quandry. Since I am brand new to computerized lighting, I don't currently own anything. Should I buy my first LOR controller as soon as they are available, or should I wait until the MP3 controller and new LOR2 software comes out.

Kaeleb,