Light-O-Rama Forums

Weather shut down

bkdraft

• 10 months later...

I hear some people never have problems with rain. I wonder how. The Disney display shuts down because of rain. I have never survived rain. I have had static displays in the past. This is my first year animated. I am writing a show that is music only with an announcement that weather conditions are not cooperating with the display.

Hmmm, I have never had trouble with rain in all the 16 years I've being doing outdoor displays, and we have some fairly bad rain during the month of December every year.

I'm wondering if there is something about the way you are connecting things up that cause the GFCIs to trip?

I ran a test in the summer becuase my mini trees kept tripping the gfci. my minis are made on chicken wire. after painting i tiewrap the lights to the tree. i sprayed with wire drier and it still tripped. than i put the mini on a milkcrate and my gfci didnt trip. so i just have to find a way to keep my minis off the ground.

Richard,

Is there anything you do extra? I've heard of people who wrap all their connections in a plastic bag. Besides keeping sockets out of puddles, that's as far as my knowledge goes to prevent trips. I haven't had a year yet, without a trip. I don't do anything out of the oridinary. I follow the 3 rule. I check not to use more than 80% of allowed amps per line. The house I moved from was owned by a welder, and I had more than enough power. I'm anticipating what I always get. Wet=no show.

I know it sound funny, but electrical ground is different in every location so that could be part of the reason some people have problems and some don't.

I work for a telco and we have a heck of a problem out in some of the farm lands because of bad grounds. It's strange but just because you have something that is supposed to be a ground, don't assume it actually *is* a ground. :)

-Jeff

bossgroove wrote:

Richard,