Light-O-Rama Forums

Adding DMX device to LOR network

roknjohn

I want to know if I can control this "disco" light with my LOR setup (v3 + 240ch)?  The light has XLR jacks (DMX IN, DMX OUT) and literature says DMX512 controllable.   What would be involved hardware-wise?  Also, how would this light "look" in the sequence editor?  

http://www.ebay.com/itm/20W-DMX512-Magic-Ball-DJ-Disco-Light-Lamp-RGB-VOX-PARTY-KTV-LED-Stage-Lighting-/400761484459

I can't help you with the DMX setup since I am a newbie at this myself, however I wanted to point out that the disco light that you gave the link to is 220v.  The first thing you'll need to do is find a 110v version.  Good luck!!!

First off, Dragon is right about the voltage.. I would send the seller a note asking if they have 120vac version. Chances are they do or this one will run off a wide voltage range.

As for the DMX question, you will need either a USB/DMX dongle, an iDMX1000, or a converter from e1.31 to DMX. The latter being the lower cost solution.  Look at J1Systems web site.  You should find what you need there.  Or you could use a DMX KING dongle.  I think those are about $60 last time I looked.

• 9 months later...

Wow, that iDMX1000 is $250.  

I'm not sure what I was looking for on the J1sysy site.  The DMX KiNG is another dongle, correct?  So I would use both my LOR dongle and the DMX King at the same time?  If so, that would mean another cable run up to my control room upstairs (PC location).

I guess I was hoping for something easier and cheaper.  I bought 4 of these DMX lights (110v) and was thinking that they would just wire into my LOR cat5 somewhere.  I'm guessing the 4 DMX devices would be daisy chained with XLR cables, then attached to some kind of bridge device that is hooked into my LOR cat5 chain.

Just to recap, I'd like my existing LOR controllers and sequences to remain unchanged.  Just want to add these 4 new DMX devices to appear as new channels in my LOR Sequence Editor.

• Like 1