Light-O-Rama Forums

Splitting the beat

Guest guest

Since I was a drummer in my youth, I kind of enjoyed tapping out Wizards in Winter :D

Once was plenty to sate the tapping passion though,:P so my next question is::

is there a fast easy shortcut for this?
I would like to tap out the beat of a song, then split the beats into even 16th notes.
or if the song is 6:8, split it into triplets.

Disclaimer number one: I know zip about music so I depend on Marty or some mechanical mean to develop the beat in my sequences.

Now type this experiment and see if it inserts the events(beat) you are looking for:

Open new sequence - (I used animation it is easier)

Select 10 seconds for length

1 sec for each event

Now select the first event - scroll to the end - hold down the shift and select last event = now the first channel is completely selected.

Under Edit select mutilpe events and choose 100- OK

You now have 1/10 of a sec timeing

You are using varibable length events to start with but the same results should occur.

I hope I understood your question correctly.

If I select 1 beat, I can split it into 4 this way, by adding 3 intervals
That works if I select each beat individually, but selecting more than one beat seems to merely select that TIME SLICE,

this is still better than tapping 16th notes each time.

if those dang musicians would keep their beats on even intervals, it would be easy, but they always seem to slow down and speed up at the transistions in a song.

Pixeldigger's method is the way I do it. i.e., select a beat, then add "Multiple" events. (1 less than the number you want, for example 8th notes you would add 7 events).

It put the events in evenly between the beats you have added. It is a bit tedious to do for large portions of a song, but seems to be the only way (at the moment).

Good luck!

T

pixeldigger wrote: