Light-O-Rama Forums

New to LoR

Demetious

Hey all,

New to LoR but have been eyeing it for over three years.  I work as a Home Automation Technician and an Electronics Technician at night so this has always been something I thought I would love to do. I just bought the 16 channel startup kit and a 16 channel add-on for good measure. I was going to buy the DIY kit but I didn't want to end up needing a bunch of stuff I missed on the site. This year I plan on animating only the 7 columns on my house to display an equalizer display of sorts plus maybe the dangling blue and whites from the eves. The columns are 8 feet tall and are 4 feet apart, 5 on the side and 3 up front but both are very visible from the street. Anyone have any good ideas for this?  My display to date has been all static lights and yard displays with about 10K lights. Also, if anyone has any tips for a newbie, I'm all ears. Thanks for any help!

An equalizer displays a visual representation of audio so this implies you would be doing a formal musical show as opposed to an animation show. They are slightly different only in that one has music and the other not. But sequencing to music is considerably more involved. I would suggest trying the SuperStar instant sequencer but that involves an upgrade in software. I think I understand that the programmer for SS built the instant sequencer based on frequency response across the channel assignments but please don't hold me too that. Understand too, I've not had a lot of luck with that one function but I've also not tried much at all. I hear that it will work once you try the many options it contains. Please look in the SS section of the forums before spending for the additional license.