Light-O-Rama Forums

HD radio delay

Nonick22

I searched the forums and i was unable to find this topic already but feel free to move this to the correct location.    I have spent many hours (as most of us have) setting the timing on my lights to be perfect with the beat of the music.   When I ran my Halloween show with speakers and listened on my radio everything was perfect.   Then I got a new truck.  (2014 Toyota if you were wondering).  When i listened to that same show the audio was off by almost half a second making it look like a foreign movie.  Has anyone seen this issue yet and how can it be resolved.  As more and more new vehicles come out with HD radios this could be a big issue.

I was a commercial broadcast engineer for many years and do understand that HD radio caused the transmission of the analog portion to be delayed to allow for time for the digital translation to occur.  The reasoning for this is that if the HD part of the signal would drop the radio would switch to the analog signal and there should be no jitter of the sound.  But this was done on the broadcaster's end and not in the individual radios.  If Toyota is doing something different, then this is a HUGE problem if the rest of the auto industry follows.  Here is a simple test - take a standard FM radio in your truck and listen to the same station as your truck radio.  Change between HD stations and non-HD ones.  If the sound is out-of-sync on a non-HD station, then Toyota has done something in their radio that is not good!

During the show i had a small hand held non had radio with headphones connected to the radio.  (little 10 pos).  I also had the truck on with the radio listening to the same channel (my channel)  there was a delay in the radio from the truck that was not in the headset of the other one.