Light-O-Rama Forums

Just starting out

darkclown

Hey guys just wanted to introduce myself. I have been putting up Christmas lights for the past 5 years ever since we finally got our new house. We have been living in apartments forever it seems and never had a chance to really decorate outside. But once we moved into our first house I decided to give it a shot. 

We are on a kinda strict budget so getting started took awhile. But over the past 5 years we have accumulated a fair amount of lights. For now it has just been strings of lights around the house on the tree and around the windows. What I like most about putting up the lights is that the whole family gets involved in it. My wife and son help as much as they can but I think I'm a little more into it then they are. My son does like to throw the switch and see all the lights come on for the first time.

But as time went on I wanted more from my lights then just adding more of them. (I wanted them to dance). So after a lot of searching I came across the Light O Rama CTB16 pc controller and it blew me away. I thought this would be perfect for my display. It pretty much had everything that I wanted it to do. 

Then after looking at some of the different websites I found out these suckers cost a good couple bucks. Yes I know they are good and worth the price but for me being on a fixed income and the $250.00 and up price tag for each one is a lot. I have checked Ebay and the prices there are almost just as much as a new one from the website. I know they are worth the price and I would happily pay it if I could.

I just for once wanted to make this year a little more special. I wanted to be the house that people actually drove by and stopped to watch the display, that's the happiness I get out of it when I put up my display and see the excitement and smiles from all the people that see my display.