Light-O-Rama Forums

Can I run rgb without a dongle?

spoonjr

I have 3 LOR controllers, the advanced LOR program, a 27 channel rgb controller, several ribbons of rgb lights, 12V converter and the standard 485 that came with my start up LOR programmer. Can I run the rgb by using "raw dmx" or do I need to get something else? I have seen a photo that shows I can plug a cat 5 into my 27 channel rgb controller, then daisy chain to the LOR controllers. Is this possible?

Do I program my regular 110V lights in the software for a show, and add rgb channels in setting them to "raw dmx" and will all the lights work?

Thank you for any help, I am new at this and of course have dove straight into the deep end rather than wading in.

If you bought the 24 channel dc controller from lor you could run it like any other lor controller. You can't use your 110 volt controllers for rgb's

I got the 27 channel from Holiday Coro, will that still work?

yes that will, for dumb strips only, not the smart pixel ones.

You should get a dmx dongle this will run on its own lor network and your 16 channel lor 110 volt controllers will be on their own network

Yeah, you have to have a dongle or go the e 1.31 route that will create multiple dmx universes for dumb, smart or a combination of dumb and smart lights.

• 2 weeks later...

Going with another dongle just for RGB, thank you everyone for the help.

another just another for RGB?  Hope you realize that a dmx dongle is not the same as the USB 485 used for LOR controllers.

• 5 months later...

Spoonjr. You have to use a dongle if the only DMX controller you are using is the Holidaycoro 27 channel dumb controller. Hope this helps.

• 9 months later...

I have similar question as spoonjr's original question based on this statement from holidaycoro's KB on combining LOR and DMX controllers:

http://www.holidaycoro.com/kb_results.asp?ID=117