Light-O-Rama Forums

Is there a career in professional lighting events?

drums114

I have been working in the IT industry for over 8 years and have my MBA.  My job is good, however whenever I work on my light display, I get such a high and would love to do this for a living.  This will be my 3rd year doing a house light display using LOR and RGB.

Is there a career in professional lighting events?   What do you need to know?  Who do you need to know?

Just a thought.  Let me know yours - I am in IL and would love to do this for a living.

I have been working in the IT industry for over two decades...

Pretty sure you would hate your seasonal job as much as you hate your everyday job.

Taking down the lights sucks worse than putting them up. Even more so when you have to take down lights for thirty houses in 18* temps.

I forgot to add, this topic pops up every year. Try searching for it and you might be surprised by all of the comments and the cost.

I would actually like to do shows for events like big name music events for the stage.  I wouldn't want to start up my own company, just work for one.  But one that does the big events for shows and music.  Not really house lights.

Sorry to be blunt, but no. Not with LOR software. I have a really good friend who's a big professional lighting designer. His beef is that LOR software does not allow for the quick changes that clients ask for. He's had to clean up a lot of issues for shows run by hobby lighters turned pro but still using LOR for big shows. I've had to consult with him a few times as he mopped up issues. I'll explain more later when not on phone.

I second the previous post. LOR is not great for quick fixes and mid-show changes. It also has difficulty supporting live input and complex DMX items such as intelligent lights. It's not LOR's "fault," it was just never designed for that kind of operation.