Light-O-Rama Forums

Some RGB Questions

LoganMc

Hi all,

I'm new to LOR but have decided to jump straight into RGB due to its versatility and year-round usability. From a value standpoint, it seems best to buy the CMB24D and Generic Starter Pack for LOR's store, and use third party RGB devices, power supply, and accessories (e.g. wiring, connectors, enclosure, etc). My questions are these:

a) Could someone please recommend any inexpensive RGB devices, power supplies, etc. that you have personal experience with?

B) I was thinking about how to run the network cable from the controller to my computer and something occurred to me. Is it possible to use powerline kits to transmit the LOR protocol?

c) Any problems with what I outlined above?

Thanks in advance,

LoganMc

As for power supplies and accessories I've had great service from Ray Wu and Creative Lighting Displays.

As for a power line kit, I don't think it's something to mess with. LOR protocol transmits power over Ethernet cable as well as data. Also there can be slow transmission rates with a power line kit

Ray Wu seems to have very high Canadian shipping rates. As for Creative Lighting Displays, this is what seemed best for me:

Power Supply

RGB Strips x7

Cables of Various Lengths

Enclosure

Pigtails x7

Then the CMB24D and Generic Starter Kit from LOR.

Any issues with the above?

Edited by LoganMc

You are definitely on the right track. I would go with cg1500. More space is always nice. Maybe a bigger power supply. Nothing wrong with more power. I've ordered into canada from both suppliers. Ray uses dhl, very quick. CLD uses UPS, they kill you on brokerage and duty

Thanks for the advice so far. That hasn't been my personal experience with UPS but I'll take your word for it. Just one more question: any advice on how to mount the strips on gutters/trim for year round use (Southwestern Ontario)? I've looked at things like industrial strength Velcro and tracks but I'm curious to see what's out there.