Light-O-Rama Forums

total Newb

jdmeyer2

I am looking at getting started, want to start out with the showtime central w/ 32 channels.  My question is this, is that a good way to start out and can I use my existing lights???

Yes, and are the lights you want to use LED or Incandescent?

Some LED strands don't play well with LOR ~AC~ Controllers, that is you can only turn them full on or off, can't dim, can't shimmer, or twinkle.   You would have to connect your current lights to the controller and use the Hardware Utility to test the lights to see if you can use any of the special effects that the controller sends out via the sequence you would program.

Incandescents won't be a problem here, this issue only seems to be with LED strands or LED bulbs, as many LED bulbs {Floods, Spotlights} are not dimmable or able to do the neat special effects that LOR utilizes.   However, LED bulbs are starting to appear that you can dim and do the effects with, just make sure any new LED's you buy, as in the spotlights, floodlights, etc. say they can be dimmed and you should be good.

Unfortunately Christmas light  {LED} manufacturers usually don't put anything on their boxes stating if the strand can be dimmed, so that's a hit and miss.

Many folks here can give you names of companies that make dimmable LED's and where to buy them.

Good Luck and welcome to the addiction, er, hobby. :)

That question is sort of like asking what kind of car should I buy.   There are lots of options and most will work just fine if you put in the time understand them.  Your option is probably the most expensive route to go, but is easiest as far as plug and play. 

What kind of lights do you have?

Steve