Light-O-Rama Forums

LED Rope Light Questions

lightingnewb

Hi,

I'm a newbie this year looking at buying LED rope light to try LOR this Christmas season. I had a couple of questions about Sequencing Software + LED rope lights that may help in deciding (a) whether I buy rope lights or incandescent and ( B) what effects I use in the software.

1. Dimmable LED? If I buy this kind, does this mean I can use the fade effect?
  2. I intend to also use the twinkle and shimmer effects with LED rope light. Will this be possible?
  3. Hanging LED onto a GUTTER. How should I go about this? I saw other posts advising velcro, some saying zip ties with a screw insert, others tell of electrical tape. Which one has worked THE BEST?
  4. Show length. In making a show, how many songs should it last? I don't want people to have to sit for 20-30 minutes for a whole show (unless they wanted to), but I also don't want it to be just 2 songs. Currently I am sequencing (with some assistance) 3 songs.

Any and all insight will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

1. yes - dimmable led rope lights can use the fade

2. yes - works ok but with the 'thin' lighting, probably not as visible as the bulb LED strings.

3. check Christmas-leds.com and see if they have anything to hang rope lights.  I do not have any experience with that.

4. you will get all sorts of responses on length. Most of it depends on the traffic you will receive. The greater the traffic, the shorter the show so the cars keep moving.  I try to keep my no longer than 20 min- give or take a few.

• Like 1

I currently will run 37 songs this year, I think. I run continuously from 6Pm to 10Pm here and most of the time, the show player is commanded to randomize the songs. This assures that most anyone driving by will never see the same song running twice. This year, I'll add a message to my new pixel tree to show when its done for the night.